Coopers Community

Real Ale Can dry hop or boil suggestions

What type of beer are you wanting to make?? 

I’m no expert with the tins at all but does that pre hopped tin need more bittering with a boil. Maybe a hop tea added might add some flavour and perceived bitterness. 

Beer Baron

• Like 1

@Beer Baron Yeah it  probably doesn’t need any more now I’m looking at it. I think it’s about 35ibu? I’m not after a face melter so I’ll leave it at that. 

In terms of what I’m wanting to make, I’m not really sure what that can leans towards just on its own besides a “real ale” haha. 

Theres a recipe on here which calls for some Nelson so maybe I’ll look in that direction of hops for a steep and or dry hop?

M

• Like 1

For mine the real ale is the best of the tins and for my taste needs nothing ... if I did do something to it i would be a hop tea or a dry hop of 25 g Centennial ... as is it is a very well balanced beer ... no matter what i make and how i make it when ever I have a real ale I always think why do I bother with all the extra hops and boils and grain additions for the APA's, IPA's and Golden Ales I make.... the only change I do to the Real Ale is  1kg LDM and either  US05 or Liberty Bell M36 .... quick, easy and cheap ... do a whole 23l  brew for $26.00 ... mind you i bottle may be different once I start kegging ... 

will be interested to see how it turns out ... keep us in the loop ... I start kegging in the next couple of weeks and the real ale will be my 1st keg brew ... want to keep it simple with something i am familiar with so i can see the difference to my bottles ... 

• Like 1

9 hours ago, Jim’s man cave said:

I have 4 tins laying around thinking I should do a toucan 

I did a half size batch with a real ale can awhile ago, so essentially a toucan when u work out the numbers. Did a hop tea using centennial and Citra and dry hopped with the same. Turned out great and was 6.5% ABV.

• 4 weeks later...
On 6/26/2019 at 9:26 AM, MitchBastard said: