Coopers Community

Books Mastering Homebrew

Peter_1983

I have been reading Mastering Homebrew (complete guide to brewing delicious beer) and some things have gone completely over my head.

In one section they are talking about the art of making a recipe and how to do it and then putting theory into practice, My initial thought would be you get the colour you want (I understood that bit perfectly) however he does say you should have an estimate for the OG of your brew.....how o do you estimate your OG?

Do you guys have a spreadsheet and work out how to get and OG of 1.55? and then see if you get a 75% complete fermentation rate? I am still a rookie, I know i am just scratching the surface of what this hobby has to offer. 

If you could please advise: should I be aiming for an OG or just work with the grain steeps and extract brewing for the time being to get the technique perfect and then if I go to all grain (one day) then looking to start a batch with an OG to aim for?    

Use the spreadsheet attached for extract brewing, but move into a brewing software (ie Beersmith, brewers friend) for all grain & more technical recipes. Shouldn't need to estimate as such if you have the right software. I'd say get all of your processes right (cleaning, sanitisation, timing,  etc) then an understanding of what different hops, grains, yeasts etc do. I think that's more important than designing a recipe based around an OG to begin with, but hey, im only a rookie myself!

Kit & Extract Beer Designer V4.1.xls

• Like 2

Thank you Smash, much appreciated. 

If you want an interesting read it is a good book and Randy managed to break it down into basic english. it also has a recipe in the middle that I'm looking forward to try and make a nice APA using Galaxy and Mosaic hops.