Coopers Community

TOUCAN STOUT QUERY

Hi All,

I'm a complete NOOB to this forum and to brewing... have done a couple of extract brews which were OK - not great, not sh*t, just OK... Anyway, am thinking of doing a Toucan Stout next and just wondering if I replaced the Dextrose with BE2 what difference would this make to the final beer? Or should I just stick to the Dextrose?

Cheers...

• 2 weeks later...

Missus did me a favour and bought a few tins on special at Big W. Thought about doing a toucan stout for years so thought why not and I have some leftover CCA trub in the fridge too. 2 cans of stout, 2 cans of dark ale and 2kgs of dextrose.  Made both up this afternoon. Made one to 23 litres with the CCA yeast. Got adventurous with the second one. Decided to go 16 litres only with a 15gm S-04 packet and one of the kit yeasts as well. All the numbers look fine for an Imperial Stout bar the Bitterness at 100 IBU is a touch high. Should go about 10% ABV in the bottle.

Both in my fridge. CCA at 18c with the probe attached. S-04 down the bottom without probe which is about 2c higher in temp which is where S-04 likes it anyway. 

Will be interested to see how they both turn out.

• Like 2

My Toucan Stout has now been fermenting for 2 weeks - FG 1.013 (started at 1.061). I ended up using BE2 rather than Dextrose (cuz that's what I had), and both kit yeasts.

It smells great, but tastes quite bitter - more bitter than I would like. I'm hoping a few months in the bottle will help this...?

Had this Toucan cold crashing for a few days - thought I may as well as I haven't had time to bottle it yet.

When I do bottle (probably tomorrow), given it's a stout, would I be better off using just one carbonation drop per bottle rather than 2 (750ml bottles)?

21 minutes ago, Gazzala said:

Had this Toucan cold crashing for a few days - thought I may as well as I haven't had time to bottle it yet.