Coopers Community

Hobgobbler

Lab Cat

As the weather is cooling and my palate wearying of pales, I'm going to be trying more beers like this.

https://www.diybeer.com/au/recipe/hop-gobbler.html

I like this for the dual addition of choc malt and crystal grain. I'm tempted to up the crystal to 200g, what effect will this have?

I'm new to steeping grains, but my current and next brew will have these additions. Why does this recipe just hot steep - and not soak the grain in cold water overnight, like other cooper recipes?

Is there a different approach required for different beer styles? I think there are other bitter-style beers where they do state soaking first. Any enlightenment welcomed.

7 hours ago, Lab Rat said:

Why does this recipe just hot steep - and not soak the grain in cold water overnight, like other cooper recipes?

Probably just because it's an older recipe, the overnight cold steeping seemed to come in later.

I made this beer for my third batch and it was great. Brew it as is first, then if you want more flavour from the crystal, make a note of that for when you do something in the same ballpark again. It was a nicely balanced beer as is...i remember my wife loved it and my Mum's partner couldn't believe I had made it. 

Cheers, 

John 

• Like 4

The purpose of steeping speciality grains (Crystal & Choc Malt) is to leach the sugars from the grain into the wort. 

I am guessing a hot steep would make this happen quicker (30 minutes) as opposed to a cold water soak (overnight)? Empirically equating it to dissolving a spoonful of sugar in a cup of tea and I personally like to get the brew going so I go the hot steep.

Try both methods and see what results you get and let us know?

BTW went 23l not 25l.

Cheers

Edited by YeastyBoy
litres

1 hour ago, YeastyBoy said:

The purpose of steeping speciality grains (Crystal & Choc Malt) is to leach the sugars from the grain into the wort.