Coopers Community

1st Borough Lager fermenting temp

Hi guys, I'm a frequent visitor to the forum, but this is my first post. I've been brewing - just kits and bits - for about 10 years and have mainly brewed up strong ales and porters.

I'm about to start brewing one of the recent recipes of the month: 1st Borough Lager and I have a couple of questions regarding the correct fermentation temperature :

1) The can in the recipe is the Coopers Real Ale is. Is an ale kit OK to use for a lager?

2) The recipe states under the MIX instructions "Top up to 21 litres with warm or cold water (refrigerated if necessary) to get as close to 18C as possible." But then later under the BREW section it says to try to ferment at 15C. 15C is fine for lagers, but low for ales (ie; Real Ale). But then the can says ferment at 21C. This is OK for an ale but high for a lager. Which of these temperatures do you think I should ferment at?

Because it's a lager maybe it means pitch the yeast at 18C and then after fermentation has kicked off, reduce to 15C? 

Thanks for your help.

Cheers,

Major BeerHump

Hi @Major BeerHump

You have been brewing 5 x longer than I have so what would I know.

Nevertheless:

1. I have used Ale kits with Lager yeasts without a problem.  The experts might think that is sacrilege but the beer tasted fine.
  2. You should ferment at the temperature that suits the yeast.  With the Saflager W-34/70 yeast in that recipe I would do it at 12°C.  However, the yeast might intentionally give this beer something specific at 15°.