Beer Baron

Time to Start Milling My Own Grain

I think it’s time I got my own grain mill. This is meant to be 1.5mm but looks quite fine in areas and have a look at that flour!!! 

Surely this is the reason a heap of grain is getting into my Grainfather and my top plate is getting compressed down. 

So what is a good decent grain mill?? 

Cheers, Beer Baron

AC86B5D5-D52D-43E8-A784-B446C67390A3.jpeg

I can't advise on mills but I can say LHBs's tend to set their mills at 'one size fits all' setting.   I found this problematic when milling smaller grains individually - like wheat and rye.  Gladfield wheat in particular was a nightmare!  

I wonder if they've accidentally got the mill set wide at one end and narrow at the other. 1.5mm is pretty coarse though, Mine's set to about 1mm or maybe a bit less.

I have a mash master mini mill. Can't fault it. Would recommend.

41 minutes ago, BlackSands said:

I can't advise on mills but I can say LHBs's tend to set their mills at 'one size fits all' setting.   I found this problematic when milling smaller grains individually - like wheat and rye.  Gladfield wheat in particular was a nightmare!  

When I order I can choose fine, medium and coarse so HE SHOULD be changing it. 

24 minutes ago, Otto Von Blotto said:

I wonder if they've accidentally got the mill set wide at one end and narrow at the other. 1.5mm is pretty coarse though, Mine's set to about 1mm or maybe a bit less.

I have a mash master mini mill. Can't fault it. Would recommend.

Some parts look 1.5mm but some are pulverised. Do you have a good place to buy the Mash Master

I got mine from Craftbrewer years ago when I first started and they still sell them, but you could probably order it directly from the mash master website as well. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1