Coopers Community

Cold Crashing

BrewBilly

I am new to temperature controlled brewing and will be bottling the brew when it is finished. If I cold crash the brew for a couple of days before I bottle it, will there still be enough yeast in the brew to react with  the carbonation sugar to ensure there is a head on the beer?

I get that crashing a big thing in brewing circles, but there are a lot of brewers and brew shops that say it's a waste of time, unless clear beer is the only aim.

If you're dropping the yeast to clear the beer, then surely the flavour is affected, as less yeast goes in the bottle. Isn't this one of the things that makes Cooper beers what they are, the cloudiness from yeast sediment?

Carbonation could also be affected as more of the yeast settles down in the trub, much of which is discarded. This is moot if kegging and gassing, as you're not doing a secondary bottle ferment..

I guess it depends what you're doing it for.

I cold crash to drop the dry hop matter out of the beer. It can lead to a couple of problems if you don't - clogged bottling wand, gushing bottles.

It does help with clarity and reduce the amount of sediment in the bottle. If you are after cloudiness and yeast sediment and yeast character in your beer, cold crashing is probably not as important.

I haven't run into a carbonation problem from lack of yeast even after a long cold crash.

It's a pretty useful process and I do it for for nearly every batch, but it's definitely not essential.

I don't think the flavour is negatively affected. Even without a cold crash you can still leave the sediment in the bottle when pouring a glass. And not everyone who home brews is making Coopers clones. Personally I don't like the way it tastes with yeast all through it, or the affect it has in other ways. 

Carbonation is unaffected. It may take a slightly longer time but otherwise there is no difference.