Coopers Community

Finances and homebrew

elLachlano

Hey guys apologies to mods if this is a breach but I found an interesting discussion over on another platform that I'd thought I'd share and see if I can get some takes from the folks over here. Cos I value your opinions.

I for one agree with this being a catalyst for reigniting my homebrew interest last year.  $60 per carton for borderline  megaswill is ridiculous. No regrets at all and I can now brew great beer that I can share with friends and family.

How does everyone else feel about this?

• Replies 88
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I started brewing because I wanted a hands on hobby. The high price of beer at the time didn’t bother me but these days the price is ridiculous. I brew now because my beer is better than the megaswill. 

The government will definitely keep on increasing the price of booze and smokes. It’s all about the $$$$$$ 

Beer Baron

5 minutes ago, Beer Baron said:

I started brewing because I wanted a hands on hobby. The high price of beer at the time didn’t bother me but these days the price is ridiculous. I brew now because my beer is better than the megaswill. 

The government will definitely keep on increasing the price of booze and smokes. It’s all about the $$$$$$ 

Beer Baron

This! Well most of it!

I started brewing for a hobby, the price and I wanted drink beers I preferred, sorry to say this but something that didn't have pride of Ringwood in it.  as time went on my tastes changed and so did the beers.

I love gathering data, by tasting, so sometimes I am flabbergasted, word of the day, by the price at a brewery/pub, $9 to $10.5 for what I know cost them pennies on the dollar....taxes!

To be totally honest I don't mind vice taxes. America could be so much better if they also did this across the state's, but that is just my opinion, we all have one. I love Australia.