Coopers Community

Newbie to brewing questions and advice :)

MitchellScott

Hi all.

Names Mitch and I am a total newbie to the forum and brewing. Got a Coopers Craft Beer Kit for Christmas and about 3 days ago followed the instructions on the DVD with the kit and the brew has been in the FV since then.

I have been doing a bit of searching and research through the forums but had a few questions I'd like to get clarification on if possible.

The DVD didn't mention heating the extract or mixing it with water once it is in the FV. After I added the yeast most of my extract was sitting on the bottom due to this. I found another topic on this forum covering a similar question and most members said that this is not a worry and the yeast will get through it. Before I left work today I checked the FV and the level has certainly dropped but there is still some on the bottom of the FV. I am hoping the yeast will get through it all.
Am I best to give the extract/water a good stir before I do my next batch? Seems like the best way to do it and also would add some air/oxygen into the brew which most people say is a good thing.

I have found contradicting advice both on the forums and on the internet regarding the time the brew spends in the FV and in the bottles. The kit comes with the Bewitched Amber Ale. What are your recommendations for FV time and bottle time? The DVD says around 6-7 days to start checking the FG, but on some places I have seen people saying to leave it in for up to 2 weeks in the FV? What is best?