John Morrison

Has anyone bought from cheapyeast.com.au?

Hi, newbie here. Has anyone used cheapyeast.com.au to buy yeast? any good? Prices are way lower than my LHBS charges me and they say free delivery for seven items. Any catch?

I haven’t used them but they definitely cheap.

It might be worth a try. It will be interesting to see if it is fresh.

I've heard good things also and will give them a try next time I buy. Shame they only have Fermentis stuff.

• Thanks 1

Looks good, but. I really need to utilize my LHBS in my country town. Use it or loose it kind of thing. I get yeast cheap by harvesting and and using 3 or 4 generations anyway,  usually US-05.

Although, I would like to commando my Dry Hops more for that extra flavour/aroma, and I won't harvest after commando.  

Thanks for the source. I'll definitely be thinking about it.

Cheers. 

• Thanks 1

Welcome to brewing,

Have a look at the Utube clip "reusing Yeast" by the King Rudd. Link in here if you dig abit.

About to place an order with Cheapyeast. Looks like a good deal & yeast.

Hoppy81 recommends them so that's good enough for me.

Cheers

• Thanks 1

Buy yeast from anywhere. Harvest from the brew you use it on & re-use at least once on another brew = cheaper than cheapyeast.com.au.

Simples. 😉

Cheers,

Lusty.

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

Righto I've riched to them through a contact form and asked about yeast freshness specifically about US05 and US04 that I'm interested in. Alex came back to me saying he would be surprised if I find fresher yeast of this brand anywhere in Australia. US05 BB date is September 2021 and US04 is March 2021. Sounds good to me. I've ordered seven of each. Will let you know how they perform.

And thanks for your help guys!

• Like 2

15 hours ago, Beerlust said:

Buy yeast from anywhere. Harvest from the brew you use it on & re-use at least once on another brew = cheaper than cheapyeast.com.au.

Simples. 😉

Cheers,

Lusty.