Coopers Community

Yeast

supernerdy

So I am still new to brewing. Have just started my new brew with US-05 as it worked well for my last brew but what are the differences? Is it better to use a different yeast for different temperatures?

I am enjoying my brewing but not enough for a second fridge and coming to summer I am curious if I can brew with different yeast which wont die at higher temps

No yeast will die at the sort of higher temps you'd experience over summer. They will likely throw some shitty flavour though, which is why most of us employ some form of cooling, whether it be a fridge or something else. The other option is to use saison yeasts, but they may or may not be to your tastes. 

At the end of the day, if you're not using saison yeasts your beer will be better if you use some kind of temp control to keep the temps down around the high teens to low 20s. 

If you like dry beers, your more likely to like Saison. 

They do throw a certain kind of funk that is yeast dependent but I find fascinating. 

Im sure your aware higher temps for certain yeasts throw phenols that my be undesirable but Saison yeasts throw character. 

The real funky yeasts I stear clear of but there are so many strains out there to pick from. 

Onto temp control. I understand your reluctance to purchase another fridge/freezer...... I was the same. I was into hobby mode just doing this occasionally. I bought a fridge, then went full obsessed with learning about beer. 

Lesson out of this, controlling your ferment temps are the best thing you can do with beer.