Coopers Community

Help me make my next brew better!

Budgery Brew Bird

Hi guys! Might I say what a great community you have going here! 

I'm a noob who's diving headlong into the world of home-brewed happiness and would love a couple of suggestions on how I could make my next (*cough* second) brew more interesting and beneficial to my personal beer-velopment.

Being as green as a Boags tinny I'm not looking for anything super complex, in fact maybe just a simple addition of another extract or supplementary sugar (honey/golden syrup etc) that from your experience might improve my plan. 

Using the old classic coopers home brew kit and hoping to make a dark(ish) drop using the following ingredients:

- Coopers Dark Ale can

- 500g Light DME

- 1kg Dextrose

Aaaand that's it so far. Straight out of blocks does anyone think this will make a really shitty beer if I just used these on their own (I should state that my expectations are optimistically low)? What would you add to spice it up? 

Bonus question: can I exclusively use stellarsan to get that OG lager can scuzz off my shiny new brew kit without creating a highschool science experiment in my fermenter? 

Hop on legends! 

Cheers, Brew Budgie xo

Hi mate

Yeah, the lager is bland, especially if no malt or other things in the mix.

New brewer myself, but asked the same question a while back. I think you'll find hops are the answer, if you want to keep it simple. This is where the bitterness, aroma and flavour comes from.  You've got some malt there, and that will add some body and flavour too. Adding some boiled cracked grains will also beef up brews, but for me, that's next level and I'm too busy trying the kits and hop combos to bother right now.