Coopers Community

Newbie here

supernerdy

Hey guys,

So picked up a craft beer kit yesterday at Aldi for $40 and giving it a crack. So far temps have gone down a bit but are around 20 but looking at the tub I cant see any foam forming. Is this normal?

Also watched the video yesterday and was rather surprised when stirring the FV wasnt included as a step. Hoping for the best ?

Fermentation goes through a few stages, you will experience abit of lag before the primary fermentation stage gets active. About a day is normal before the airlock starts bubbling away so don't panic and sit back and enjoy the experience. Controlling your temp is a critical factor in getting a good brew. No doubt you will be enjoying your own brew before long. Cheers

He's probably bought the Coopers craft brew kit, which doesn't have an airlock. They're not needed anyway. You can see when fermentation has started, and then stops. After that, the hydrometer is a better gauge of when it's fully completed.

1 hour ago, Lab Rat said:

He's probably bought the Coopers craft brew kit, which doesn't have an airlock. They're not needed anyway. You can see when fermentation has started, and then stops. After that, the hydrometer is a better gauge of when it's fully completed.

Thanks, did know there was a difference so appreciate the clarification. Supernerdy will be going the WTF Airlock? Must say I enjoy hearing the airlock bubbling away, indicates that things are a brewing in there and at what rate.

14 minutes ago, YeastyBoy said:

Thanks, did know there was a difference so appreciate the clarification. Supernerdy will be going the WTF Airlock? Must say I enjoy hearing the airlock bubbling away, indicates that things are a brewing in there and at what rate.

I haven't bothered with one, but I've read many on here have older or brew shop bought fermenters which accommodate them. The only problem I can see with them is they can still bubble even though fermentation has finished.