Coopers Community

Just started my first home brew kit

Rob in Devon, UK

Hello to all in the community. Just started my first brew kit this afternoon - IPA. The instructions all seem clear but let's see what happens. I am a complete novice at this so look forward to interaction with the community. One thing I did find odd was that there was no guidance regarding the temperature of the first 20 litres of water to be added ie how much cold water from the tap vs how much warm water. I have no idea what makes up to the ideal temperature range. Any advice for the future ? Also now have to keep the temperature constant - not so easy in the Autumn when the heating is not yet on properly and the weather fluctuates. Going to be a nervous few days.... Cheers, Rob

Welcome; I’m still learning myself, but if you start filling with cold water to 15L and take a temp measurement, you should have enough time to get the temp where you need it to be by the time you reach 20L.

Inkbird temp controllers are good (Ebay) as are heat belts or heat pads. Alternatively use a sink of water to put your vessel in and add hot water or frozen bottles to adjust temp. Vessel temps will lag behind ambient temps quite a bit.

One thing they often leave out is that when you bottle, leave it for longer than the minimum, and consider the bottles still need to be in the right temperature for secondary fermentation, else they don’t carbonate (fizz) or may just take much longer. So store in a warm cupboard.

good luck

I'm on my 3rd and so long as you follow instructions and sanitise well, everything should be fine.

A target temp is important so you don't put in your yeast when it's too hot or cold. Coopers suggest a couple litres of hot or boiling water to do your mix, topped up with tap. this should put you in the mid 20C. Keeping temp stable at around 18-20 for ales is ideal, but I don't have a means of controlling mine either, so I fluctuated a bit with my first 2 brews. They both came out fine.