Coopers Community

Christmas Pilsner

BobbyBoy

Hey guys, I know it’s early to be thinking about Christmas, but I like to pre plan.

I am really new to brewing, but, was hoping to make a Pilsner to give to my mates for Christmas.

I’m hoping to get some suggestions or advise to make the best brew I can considering my newness to the hobby. I was planning to base the beer on the Coopers 86 day Pilsner kit, maybe using some liquid malt (as I heard i will have better results with it) and possibly dry hopping for the first time.

I’ll be brewing a half batch as I only have the craft kit at this stage.

I would love some suggestions on what malt may suit and hop suggestions too.

thanks,

Bobby

I’ve never done a pils nor have I done a kit for ages but I have been enjoying NZ Pils of late.

Hop suggestion: Motueka, Nelson Sauvin. 75%\25% 

Sorry I don’t want to lead you up the garden path of malt as I have no idea when using a kit.

Good luck with your brew.

Captain 

3 minutes ago, The Captain1525230099 said:

I’ve never done a pils nor have I done a kit for ages but I have been enjoying NZ Pils of late.

Hop suggestion: Motueka, Nelson Sauvin. 75%\25% 

Sorry I don’t want to lead you up the garden path of malt as I have no idea when using a kit.

Good luck with your brew.

Captain 

Thanks Captain. Any ideas for weight/amount of the Hops?

Depends what sort of pilsner you're after. If you want it like a new world one then the captain's suggestion would be the way to go but if you want a traditional Czech pilsner then use Saaz hops. 

I don't really know much about making new world pilsners in terms of hop schedules but for a traditional one you could try boiling 15g Saaz for ten minutes, then add another 15-20g at the end of the boil for a 20 minute steep. No dry hop.