Coopers Community

Stainless Steel Barrel Fermenter 42L

wazzamcg

Hi

Newbie here getting started again.

I have brewed before about 25yrs ago. I am going to give it another shot. I have had a kegerator for just over a year now and want to have a go at brewing again. 

I was wondering if anyone thinks the following stainless steel barrel is a good idea? I see a few pluses for it.

It's 42L so will make 2 @ 18L kegs.
The boiler is the fermenter - no poring, less cleaning, less contamination
Stainless steel is a big tick, cleaning - no scratches etc
Lid can be sealed 
It may be possible to put enough pressure in the barrel to transfer the brew into kegs via CO2.
30cm Diameter Base - good for stove top
60cm Height - should be able to fit 2 in a upright freezer
Reasonably priced at $129
The dude in China I may buy this off will throw in a extra food grade seal and lid - I want the 2nd lid for transferring into my kegs...maybe.

What are your thoughts?

Cheers,
Warren

Milk Can.png

Looks Cool, but what about the weight. Moving it to a fridge would be a 2 man job.

I use a 60l FV, but can fill it while it sits in the fridge. It stays there until I keg it. I only have to lift about 12KG in total.

John