Coopers Community

Newbie Needs Help !!!

Depthangel

Hi guys 

firstly let me say I am totally new to the brewing community, I was feed up with standard beers and decided to rise to the challenge of the Home brewer.

now I have just started my first brew which was the Coopers Mexican Cerveca with enhancer 2 it’s now been theee days and still no airlock activity, there is condensation on the lid but no yeast cake ?? On the top or any bubbles it’s around 25 degrees temp any ideas ???

thanks in advance 

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Do you have a hydrometer? If so check the gravity. The airlock doesn't tell whether it is fermenting the only way to know is to check it to see if the original gravity, OG, has dropped.

The temp I brew these kits at are 18c up to 22c, anything above that will leave some off flavours, especially with all the dextrose in the BE2. I would recommend BE3 over the other brew enhancers due to the 50% malt 25% dextrose and 25% maltodextrin mix. The more malt the better body while dextrose thins out the beer but adds alcohol.

You should still get a fair beer, just remember to take notes of this beer and what you added and the temperature you fermented and then build off of it. When I made this same kit the 1st time I thought I was king of the world, with BE2 at 25ish degrees, so dont worry it will be fine.

Let us know if the gravity has dropped.

One more thing, when I make this kit and brew it at 18ish I raise the temp, usually just let it rise to ambient, after the beer is about 75% complete. So if it started at 1.040 and the hydrometer reads 1.020 I let the temp rise to let the yeast clean up. It makes for a cleaner tasting beer.

Norris

Don’t be in a rush to bottle. If you bottle too early and fermentation isn’t finished you run the risk of getting bottle bombs. 

I leave my brews for at least 14 days before packaging.