Coopers Community

Beersmith 3

joolbag

Hey Jools, are you going to give it a try? Sounds like quite a few features have been added. 

Brad sent another email a while back asking for feedback for incorporation into Beersmith. I explained the reasons why I had stopped using Beersmith some time ago and wondered if Brad would like to address any of the issues in v3. Unfortunately his reply was 'yes they are valid issues but are too hard to address as they impact a large number of functions across the codebase'.

As a software developer I find this a little strange to hear as I do fairly complex refactoring all the time. So I guess I'm stuck with my custom spreadsheet (which although fairly rudimentary does not have the same fundamental flaws) until I get enough time to turn it into my own bit of for personal use.

Edit: Not trying to dissuade anyone from using Beersmith as it does offer quite a lot of features, and you can work around it's flaws with a bit of creativity. 

Cheers, 

John

I’ll wait for Otto and others to buy it first, get some reviews and then make a decision! In all likelihood I will buy it to support Brad and I will use some of the features. I just won’t be an early adopter

I saw those pricing! Yes $9.95 a year is most reasonable. I like the idea of ALL of my recipes and Brewdog being in the cloud. Often I am at work and want to look up a recipe and it isn't in the 15 I have in my cloud storage.

My tin-arse mate only bought beer Smith 2 this year, so gets a gold subscription for free! Lucky timing

I store my recipes in a notepad, that way they'll never get lost and I don't have to pay a subscription fee every year either. However the improved functions of the new Beersmith make it worth the small cost per year even if I don't use the cloud to store anything. I'll look into it soon.

3 hours ago, Otto Von Blotto said: