Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Nick1525230277

Brew Enhancer 1

Recommended Posts

Hi all,

Is the Maltodextrin in Coopers Brew Enhancer 1 Gluten Free. That being is it made from Maize, Starch or Rice instead of wheat? Just a gluten free brewer trying to make a decent GF beer.

Cheers

Nick

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No idea, but I did find this from a bit of a Google search:

 

"Maltodextrin can be enzymatically derived from any starch. In the US, this starch is usually corn; in Europe, it is common to use wheat. It is highly unlikely that maltodextrin derived from wheat would contain amounts of gluten significant to people suffering from gluten-related disorders such as coeliac disease.[2]"

 

https://www.glutenfreeliving.com/gluten-free-foods/ingredients/top-10-ingredients-you-really-dont-need-to-worry-about/ scroll down to the maltodextrin part.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The Maltodextrin, used in our Brew Enhancers, is derived from maize. smile

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Paul.

The Maltodextrin' date=' used in our Brew Enhancers, is derived from maize. [img']smile[/img]

Would I be correct that Maltodextrin is still called "Corn Syrup Powder" in some circles, & that the two are one & the same thing?

 

Cheers,

 

Lusty.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Generally, yes. However, I've seen similar product also derived from Wheat or Tapioca...sideways

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Nick,

 

If you're on facebook, go to The gluten free brewer I haven't brewed any of these yet but I've been following him for a while as my Wife has coeliacs disease.

 

Cheers,

Hoppy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Generally' date=' yes. However, I've seen similar product also derived from Wheat or Tapioca...[img']sideways[/img]

I had heard of the Tapioca based version, & thought it quite odd (at the time) as I had no idea that tapioca was that prevalent.

 

Thanks Paul. smile

 

Cheers,

 

Lusty.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I’m currently testing recipes for making vegan ‘cheese’ for our pizza shop, and tapioca flour is used as a thickener. It’s also used for making the pearls in bubble tea.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I’m currently testing recipes for making vegan ‘cheese’ for our pizza shop' date=' and tapioca flour is used as a thickener. It’s also used for making the pearls in bubble tea. [/quote']

....and puddings! biggrin

 

Cheers,

 

Lusty.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×