Coopers Community

Homemade Orange Liqueur

ChristinaS1

In preparation for Christmas I am making some homemade orange liqueur. This is my first attempt. Only halfway done but the process seems super easy. Now that I know how easy it is, I won't be buying liqueurs anymore. The recipe is adapted from one in the book "The Drunken Botanist," by Amy Stewart, which is a most amusing book.

Orange Liqueur recipe:

1 cup vodka, or brandy, or 1/2 vodka and 1/2 brandy, or 1/2 vodka and 1/2 bourbon

4 organic oranges, zest only (use carrot peeler but try to avoid white pith)

+/- some (whole) spices

Soak for one week. Then make a simple syrup made of:

1 cup sugar

1 cup water

Add simple syrup to the booze and zest mixture and soak for another 24 hours. Refrigerate overnight.

I chose to go with 1/2 vodka and 1/2 bourbon and did add small amounts of whole spices: 1/4 vanilla bean, coarsely crush cardamon seeds (not pods), star anise, sliver of nutmeg. I am guessing I will hardly taste the spices, but better too little than too much.

Cheers,

Christina.

Hi Bill, smile

Yes, track the book down if you can; you won't regret it. The recipe is actually for Limoncello, but she says you can use any kind of citrus, or cocoa nibs, or coffee beans. You could probably use a lot of other fruits too. Next summer I am going to try making more liqueurs, with different fruits I grow or forage.

I have looked at numerous other liqueur recipes online. I read something interesting on one website: the author said that orange liqueur is a good one to have on hand because, if you ever you make a fruit liqueur that you feel is kind of a flop, blending it with a bit of orange liqueur can often "save" it.

Keep well my friend,

Christina.

Hey thanks Christina.happy

Yep got the book straight up. Very expensive though biggrin a whole $A1.70. Got it for nothing as I used my loyalty points on Kobo. I buy most of my books through them, and some through Kindle. Very much into eBooks.