Coopers Community

Fermenter Fridge Size

Ryano2

Hi Guys,

I know this has been done to death, I had a quick search on the forums but couldn't find an answer.

I am only a beginner brewer but I am looking to make a fermenter fridge. I have the STC1000 wired and a heating belt ready to go, but I am struggling to find a fridge that will work for me.

Does anyone know any current fridges that would fit the 23 litre fermenter.

I don't want to buy a fridge and find it's too small, I am looking at a bar fridge or something that would fit one fermenter.

There's a Westinghouse bar fridge that is fridge only. That will fit a fermenter nicely.

Generally the bar fridges with a freezer at the top aren't big enough.

I have one of the Westinghouse ones, but it took a long time to find one at a good price on Gumtree.

Just try and find a cheap fridge only on Gumtree and take your FV along. That's what I did.

This one.

26112014112713WRM1300WC_06.jpg

Westinghouse WRM1300WC 130L Bar Fridge

I'm not sure, but probably not. I don't use an airlock.

I've just put a bit of duct tape over the hole.

And as mentioned in another thread I have one of those blue water containers

from Bunnings. No hole in the lid.

Just take along your FV and see if it fits. By the way the Coopers FV with extra bit on

will just about fit in this fridge. It's a bloody tight fit, but I think it will....... just.

I have a project coming up, spotted a couple of weeks ago, a bloke built a cabinet out of insulated panels that joined up to a bar fridge.

A great solution for those of us on a smaller budget.

I'll probably build a cabinet big enough for at least three fermenters, I do mostly ales, I figure the fridge isn't going to have to work very hard to maintain 20 degrees Celsius.

Cheers

JP

You were lucky, it took me months to find one. Mine isn't exactly set up quite right at the moment.

The heater isn't in place how I'd like it. I hope to fix it up next week.