Coopers Community

Franziskaner Hefe Weissbier

Hi,

I am very new to brewing. I was in my local home brew store the other day and got talking about the best way to go about brewing something similar to Franziskaner Hefe Weissbier. After looking for a clone on google, he came up with.

1.7kg Mangrove Jack's Bavarian Wheat extract

1.5kg Morgans Master Malt Wheat extract

WB-06 Yeast

45g hops - Perle, Tettnangager, Saaz (added after 4 days in Fermenter)

I have been reading that you shouldn't dry hop for Weissbier. Is this correct? Will this ruin the clove/banana taste ?

Hi' date='

I am very new to brewing. I was in my local home brew store the other day and got talking about the best way to go about brewing something similar to Franziskaner Hefe Weissbier. After looking for a clone on google, he came up with.

1.7kg Mangrove Jack's Bavarian Wheat extract

1.5kg Morgans Master Malt Wheat extract

WB-06 Yeast

45g hops - Perle, Tettnangager, Saaz (added after 4 days in Fermenter)

I have been reading that you shouldn't dry hop for Weissbier. Is this correct? Will this ruin the clove/banana taste ?[/quote']

Hi Nighthawk

Yes Ben is right about the hops. Being born in Munich I naturally make lots of Weißbier, I used to use the Coopers one they discontinued and use now the Morgans wheat beer kit with 1 kg of dextrose and 500 grams of wheat spray malt with WB-06. Temperature is important 24 degrees. No hops!

This is very close to a Franziskaner.

Prost

Yes Ben is right about the hops. Being born in Munich I naturally make lots of Weißbier' date=' I used to use the Coopers one they discontinued and use now the Morgans wheat beer kit with 1 kg of dextrose and 500 grams of wheat spray malt with WB-06. Temperature is important 24 degrees. No hops!

This is very close to a Franziskaner.

Prost[/quote']

Hi Qlander/Ben,

Thanks for that.

Qlander,

Do you transfer for a secondary FV once gravity is reached?