Coopers Community

Dry hop or hop tea & when to add?

Hops question.

I want to add some hops to my next brew and wondered whether you lovely lot had any tips on best practice and whether dry hopping or adding a hop tea would provide the best results.

At what stage would it be best to add a hop tea and the pros and cons of such?

If dry hopping, is it best to introduce after/close to FG?

I only really want aromatics for this one so if the addition of a hop tea is looking like the way to go I'll add it to a little boiling water for a minute at the most and then steep for say 30.

Could the tea be added to the fv after cold crashing just prior to bottling in order that the captured flavour/aroma would still be pretty fresh after 4/5 weeks in the bottle?

Cheers.

Hi HBNSumdger,

I'm new to the game as well. I have done a couple of hop tea batches seeped for 10 mins then added to the FV. I found that you could definitely notice the aroma but it did start reduce after 4 weeks.

Dry hopped my first batch yesterday after 5 days in the fermenter with SG at 1017. I wanted to make sure that the yeast were still producing CO2 so they could replace any that may have escaped while the lid was off. I will now leave the hops there until bottling. Why did i choose 5 days, because a mate told me to do it that way.

I don't think there are any hard and fast rules for dry hopping just a matter of preference and what is considered trendy at the time.

Here is a link to a BYO write up that i found helpful. It was from 2003 but should still be relevant. There is also a like at the bottom of the story to another article.

BYO Dry hop