Coopers Community

US-05 vs kit yeast flavours

Igoe

I'm still fairly new to this HB game, so I like to experiment a bit, using Coopers kits mostly while I get the hang of it and learn what I like most.

My go-to brew is the Coopers APA, using 1kg BE2 as recommended. The first batch I did was virtually indistinguishable to my taste buds from the real Pale Ale.

I recently did 2 batches side by side, using different yeasts, so I that could compare them.

One had the kit yeast rehydrated, the other had US-05 rehydrated.

Both were fermented in a fridge at a steady 21° (using STC-1000), then CC'd for the last couple of days.

Fermentation of both was pretty quick, being completed in about 4 days.

OG 1.042 FG 1.012

I bulk primed at 5.5g/litre with raw (not brown) sugar.

They've been in the bottle now for about 5 weeks.

I'm still trying to develop my palate, but it seems to me that the US-05 batch has a bit of a citrusy finish that is not there with the kit yeast. I'm not that keen on it to be honest. The other one is delicious.

So... why would this be so?

And given my penchant for experimentation, are there any other yeasts I should try?

Ian

I like that you did a side-by-side experiment like this. It really is the best way to determine the impact that a particular variable can have on the process and final outcome. Different yeasts offer differing ester profiles so I'm guessing that's what you're picking up. However, US-05 generally has a reputation for being very clean (though not for some of us!), so I wouldn't have expected it to be the one with 'citrusy' notes, based on majority experience. It may have been different if fermented at 18ºC which I know a lot of people prefer.

As it happens, I'm a huge fan of the Coopers kit yeast myself and now use it in preference to US-05. cool

Hi Igoe. Well there is kit yeast and then there is kit yeast. Not all of the kit yeasts are the same. Are you familiar with this sticky: