Coopers Community

New Bottle cleaning

gytski

Hey Up, I'm new to the home brewing and after doing a American IPA in a keg which turned out nice I am now doing a lager which I am wanting to bottle.

I have brand new pet coopers bottles and was wondering the best way to clean them before use.

I was considering placing them into a big bowl with cleaner/sanitizer and leaving for a short while before giving a good rinse with cold water then rinse again with warm water. Also I was going to do the same with the caps.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

New bottles shouldn't need a soak in sodium perc , a quick spritz of starsan and fill them up

There are plenty of generic branded phosphoric acid based sanitisers on market , dirt cheap and a bottle lasts for years .

After drinking the bottles a good rinse and an overnight soak in sodium perc is a great way to keep them clean

Don't leave them soak too long or you get a white build up that's a pita to remove

Sorry, should have said what I'm using. I've got a tub of Wilko steriliser/cleaner but I can get something else instead, I was going to use this for cleaning the FV out afterwards but been told its ok for doing the bottles with as long as its well rinsed.

It'd be nice if they told you what was actually in the stuff. What's it say on the container? In any case, you might as well use what you have while you have it. It can always be replaced with percarbonate later when it runs out. Unless of course that's what it is.

ED: It appears that stuff is percarbonate from a couple of forum posts elsewhere. It can just be used as a soaker in warm water then rinsed with hot water the next day or whenever. It's funny reading posts from people who clearly have no idea what they're talking about in relation to it though.lol

• 6 months later...
lol[/img]

I'm certainly one who has no idea! happy