Coopers Community

Fermentation Temp Control

Jim1525230050

I've been brewing for a few years now and this summer find its much to hot to ferment so bought a 420 L all fridge (no freezer) and a Keg King temp MKII Temperature Controller (Heat & Cool).

I picked a large fridge because I can fit up to 4 fermenters (2 wide top fermenters). I put the primary fermenters on the top shelf and secondary on the lowest shelf. This makes it easy to drain the primary into the secondary without removing the fermenter from the fridge. I can also keep my brew ingredients in the door shelves. This keeps everything within reach and a good place to store yeast at safe temp but yeast storage is best in your kitchen fridge. Having a large full fridge has many advantages. There is no need to cut away door internal shelves, there is no freezer taking up room, remove the temp controller and refit the shelves and you have a beer fridge. An upright freezer will do the same job. Most bar fridges are too small to fit the height of a 30l fermenter. the motor sits up inside the fridge and the freezer gets in the way. Power usage is minimal. A well insulated fridge rarely switches on at night and only a few times during the day.

I have seen lots of info on the web about temperature controllers. I picked the King Keg MII for many reasons. It works from -45C up to 120C, it is plug and play (no extra parts or work), is reasonably riced at $77, works your heater as well as the fridge so in winter the fridge will cool in the day and the heater will warm on those cold mornings and can be programmed to do everything I need to do including step temp settings. Just set and forget.

I also make spirits and temp control during fermentation is necessary so the yeast can work at the optimum.

Look forward to any comments, Cheers and happy brewing.