Coopers Community

Favourite coopers brews?

Sir_Robdog

Hi,

I am new to brewing and am looking to start my second batch of beer. My first batch was the original series lager which didn't taste that great. I typically drink European lagers such as peroni, becks or Heineken and Japanese beers such as kirrin or asahi. I was considering the European lager kit how would you all rate it? Is there any kits which resemble those Japanese beers? Also a bit of a long shot but I was wondering if anyone had an idea on how to adapt a kit to make something similar to Kozel Dark.

Cheers in advance,

Robim

Hi Sir Robdog, and welcome to the forum. Do you happen to have a brew fridge? It is best to brew lagers in a brew fridge, or if you have a basement that is around 13C.

I don't know anything about Japanese lagers. Coopers has three kits that come with lager yeast. From least to most bitter they are the European Lager, Golden Crown Lager, and Pilsner. They come with 7gm of lager yeast, which isn't enough if you brew it at lager temperatures. Good idea to buy an extra pack of lager yeast, something like Fermentis Saflager 34/70, and rehydrate them together. You can either pitch the yeast at 22C and then cool it down as much as you can after that, preferably to 13C, or pitch it at 13C. If you pitch at 13C, then you'll need to make a starter with your rehydrated yeast. I am currently giving the Golden Crown lager a try for the first time. I've tried both of the other two and preferred the European Lager to the Pilsner.

The Australian Pale Ale kit is very similar to the European Lager kit. The main difference between them is that it comes with a blend of ale and lager yeast, which means you can brew it at a more easily attainable 18C and still get a very lager-like brew.

Cheers,

Christina.