Sign in to follow this  
Schovers

Newbie question!

Hi All

Complete newbie here, so this question is bound to have been asked before, so I'm sorry :-)

I was given a Cooper DIYBEER kit for Christmas and mixed it all up as instructed without a problem (lager) but it's been fermenting at a regular 18c for the the 7 days since, is this a problem, as the instructions say it should be higher (22-26c) ?

Any help would be appreciated

Schovers

In spite of the name on the label, that kit actually comes with an ale yeast, which makes it an ale. 18C will produce a clean, nice ale. Don't worry about it.

Cheers,

Christina.

Thank you for your reply Christina, so it's wait until I get two readings the same one after each other day, before I think about bottling?

After 4-7 days days you should be at a stable FG , don't even bother taking samples before 7 days

can highly recommend leaving it in the FV for 14 days total before bottling as this allows the yeast to clean up after themselves properly , patience is very important in brewing but they don't supply any in the kit .

Welcome to the hobby and the forum

Thank you all for your help

It's cold here (England) and the mix has dropped to 16c today, is this a problem or is it just a case of a few more days fermenting?

Sorry to ask such basic questions!

16 is a little low for it , Ale yeasts go to sleep if they get too cold

Try wrapping it in a blanket , we all started somewhere mate

Lager actually benefits from a colder tem' date=' 18 is nice[/quote']18 is nice for ale yeast, lagers are best around 9-12C depending on the strain, although I do raise mine to 18 after about 6 days.

Of course, this kit comes with an ale yeast so 18C is great. Already off to a good start.