Coopers Community

1st Lager

ForsterMassive

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to brewing. For my 6th batch I thought I'd give a lager a bash. I have a kegerator set up and a spare fridge. I'm doing ESB's Czech Pilsner using 2 x 11.5g of saflager s23 for 22 litres. Although I have a spare fridge I have no temp control. On the 'warmest' setting the fridge gets the wort to about 8c. The ideal temp for saflager is 11-15c.

My question is...do I need to be concerned about the low temp?

My solution is to fix a timer to the fridge - off for 3 hours; on for 3 hours over a 24 hr period. Is this okay? Or is it worse than leaving the brew at 8c?

All help greatly received for this novice brewer (who's no longer a lurker :)

Cheers

JD

Welcome to the forum!

As a first time poster, it would be nice if you were making a Coopers brew but anyway...sideways

A timer can work quite nicely. This is what I used before finally buying a temp controller.

Assuming you have the radial type with little segments to push in for on or off - consistent temp can be managed by running for a short time every hour or so (eg 15mins every two hours). It just might take a little bit of fiddling about to get the suitable duty cycle for your situation. biggrin

I'll do a Coopers next time I promise happy

So you reckon short bursts of cool will work better than my 3 hours on, 3 hours off. I'll do as you say and do either 15 or 30 mins every 2 hours.

What I love about brewing is it's all just one big experiment and a bit of trial and error. But this forums has taught me lots on my steep learning curve into beer making!

Short bursts definitely would work better. I have a temp controller on my fridge for fermentation and it probably comes on maybe 3 or 4 times an hour for I dunno..5 minutes at a time, to keep the temp where I want it. If you left it on for three hours it would drop the temp too far, although being a lager yeast it'd probably keep fermenting anyway.